Written by: Niall Brownen

This years photographer of the year competition saw 26 members enter 6 prints each, which gave our judges a sizeable amount of prints to judge. 
The Judges this year were John Sexton, Seammus Costello, and Paddy Barker:
  • John Sexton is a local professional photographer who used to be a member of cork camera group and also teaches photographer in St John’s college. John shoots primarily Weddings and Portraits, however has previous club experience and has even produced the odd landscape or two.
  • Seamus Costello is no stranger to Cork Camera Group. A fellow of the Irish Photographic Federation, FIAP and a regular judge on the distinction panels, he’s an excellent judge of all area’s of club photography and gives great feedback to photographers no their images. 
  • Paddy Barker, another local photographer and probably no stranger to may members of the club, as i am sure many of you will have been to his shop, Barker Photographic, and Paddy is the main sponsor of the Rebel Cup, The Cork Salon, and has always been generous tot he club and club members. Paddy is also another professional photographer, having worked as a dark room technician for the Irish Examiner, before working as a Photographer, and then working as the Picture editor for the Examiner for 13 years. 
This year the winners and runner up’s were as follows.
Grade 1
First Place: Niall Brownen             111 pts
Runner Up: Danny Foley               110 pts
Grade 2
First Place: Diarmuid O’Sullivan   115 pts
Runner Up: Massimo Berta           111 pts 
Grade 3
First Place:  Lynda Kenny            108 pts
Runner Up:  John D Sullivan        103 pts
A full break down of the results is attached.