Vincent Kelly -

It was a very satisfying day for club members who took part in the Southern Association of Camera Clubs (SACC) Photographer of the Year
(POTY) and Nature Photographer of the Year (NPOTY) competitions in Horse and Jockey on  Saturday January 25.

The event is a qualifier for the Irish Photographic Federation (IPF) national competitions which this year takes place in Carlow on Sunday,
February 23, at the Talbot Hotel in Carlow.



Both Dave Harris and Morgan O’Neill were medal winners whilst there were honourable mentions for the quality of their work, marked with the

presentation of certificates, to Charlie O’Donovan, and Ann Francis.
Fellow club members were delighted that Morgan was also awarded several honourable mentions. Best wishes were sent to him by all those in

John Tait of East Cork Camera Group also received an honourable mention. We are delighted that John is also a member of our club.

Overall it was a great day for Cork Clubs with Blackwater, Blarney, Mallow, Fermoy, Clonakilty and East Cork all having success.

Blarney club member Michael Strapec was the very deserving and highly popular winner of the overall title of SACC Photographer of the Year. Congrats
Michael. We look forward to your night with us on Tuesday, March 24. Members are in for a very special treat. A night not to be missed.

Pakie O’Pakie O Donoghue of Blackwater Photographic Society was the equally popular winner of the SACC Nature Photographer of the Year. Congrats Pakie

Blarney Camera club did a superb job in making the arrangements for the event.


The judges were IPF chairman Dominic Reddin, FIPF; Des Clinton, FIPF, FRPS, MFIAP and Michelle le Grue, FIPF.

The photos show Mark Gorman, chair SACC, making presentations to Charlie O’Donovan, Ann Frances and Dave Harris.  

The group pic features, front row, left to right, John Tait, Ann Frances and John Linehan. Back row, left to right: Dave Harris, Charlie and Frank Leslie. 

Máire Sweeney and Vincent Kelly were also there to cheer on members.